• Sit down and enjoy the home-like atmosphere
• Discover how The Greyfriar’s was saved from demolition
• See how the house has changed over the centuries
• Explore the delightful walled garden
• Trails available for children every day
Greyfriar’s is a Late Medieval merchant's house, rescued from demolition, in Worcester city centre. It was built in 1480 by a wealthy merchant, it became a home to wealthy families up until the 17th century and in 1699 a baker purchased the lease and divided the house into two. It became a mixture of homes, shops and businesses for next 200 years. Trade varied and included clothing, hats, bread, leather goods, umbrellas and china riveting. Over the years buildings were added and extended including 10 cottages in the back yard.
But as the fortunes locally declined from the 1700s it was threatened with demolition in the 1930s along with the row of 10 houses in Georges Yard behind. This black and white timber-framed house was rescued from demolition after the Second World War and has been carefully restored and refurbished with a walled garden designed and created by the Matley-Moores recycling and using materials from the demolished cottages. The Matley-Mooores were two siblings who remained Greyfriar’s tenants until their deaths in the 1980s. The care of Greyfriar’s was transferred to the National Trust in 1966.
A very friendly and welcoming Tourist Information Centre, and a fascinating permanent local history exhibition.
Church or religious building
The Vestry of St. Peter's church is dedicated to the memory of Edward Winslow who was baptised here in 1595.
A glorious Grade I listed building dating back to the 12th century.
Situated on one of the most historic streets in Worcester this 16th century timber framed building brings a vanished Worcester back to life.
Pilgrim Edward Winslow was educated at King’s School Worcester, which is situated in the Cathedral precinct and was at the time run by the Cathedral.
You'll be the first to hear the latest Mayflower news, events, and more.